THE HIDDEN GARDEN…

My last entry was on Feb. 2011, three months ago.  Here in the Willamette Valley in Oregon, it seems Spring has come and gone several times with a few nice days here and there and many rainy days in between. My garden has been delayed for weeks, but  I finally was able to get the area tilled just two weeks ago on May 2.  Since then, I have spent almost every free moment working on the garden. Today,  I will plant a couple of decorative planters with trailing petunias and I can call my garden officially done!

Of course all gardeners know that a garden is really NEVER finished!  There are always plants to add, or a new climbing vine or stepping stone or mulch or bark or a decorative rock or two…the list is endless…and then there’s the maintenance.  Watering, pulling weeds, edging beds. Fortunately my garden is small, only about 700 square feet so not too much for me to handle.

 

Picture this entry arbor, the climbing structures and the privacy screen covered with climbing pink and white roses and pink, white and purple clematis.  The Hidden Garden is an English Cottage Garden with roses, peonies, clematis, jasmine, lilac, honeysuckle, passion vine, and an assortment of old-fashioned perennials such as larkspur, columbine, phlox, dianthus, daisies, lavender, delphinium, foxglove, nicotiana, heather and many other old favorites.

I still have to finish spreading bark in the back corner and then placing my stepping stone paths. The entire Hidden Garden is enclosed with privacy screening.  There are many trellises and climbing structures that will soon be covered with  flowering vines.  Two large arched ‘garden houses’  flank each side;  the one to the left encloses a little bistro set where I can sit and have my morning coffee or do my writing or painting.  The ‘garden house’ on the right side has a comfortable chaise lounge for shady afternoon naps!

As soon as plants begin to grow and climb, I will truly have a peaceful, Hidden Garden.

Leave a comment